Canyon Saint Marcellin

Perched on the slopes of the Causse Sauveterre, the Saint-Marcellin canyon will take you on a succession of progressive abseils, in a breathtaking setting, to lead you to the old troglodytic village of Saint-Marcellin where you can admire the Tarn gorges from a height of almost 400 metres.

This activity is only available for groups in springand autumn.

Reminder: The canyon ends with a high abseil, so it is essential that you are not prone to vertigo to sign up for this activity.

DESCRIPTION DRY CANYON IN THE GORGES DU TARN

You will meet your instructor directly in the village of Liaucous.

Briefing by the instructor on the abseiling technique and practice at your own pace before starting the descent.

Then the course begins with a succession of small easy abseils, the height of which does not exceed 8 metres. You will be permanently backed up by your instructor with an additional rope, so there is no risk of slipping or dropping the rope.

After training on these first descents, the canyon opens up and a breathtaking panorama is offered to you where you can admire the gorges of the Tarn at a height of nearly 400 metres.

Then it's time for the adrenaline to kick in as you cross a very aerial zip line which leads to the start of the final abseiling section of the descent. However, there is a possibility of bypassing it in a few minutes by a parallel path which joins the rest of the course.

Finally you will reach the final abseil, the highlight of the show! 50 metres of spider wire descent in the heart of an exceptional landscape!

Then, after a final crossing without rope, you will leave the canyon to reach the hiking trail that leads in a few minutes to the troglodytic village of Saint-Marcellin, which you can then visit at your own pace.

The site is incredibly beautiful and the view of the river below and the Tarn gorges adds an unforgettable visual to this idyllic setting.

Canyon Saint Marcellin

Perché sur les flancs du causse Sauveterre, le canyon  de Saint-Marcellin vous emmènera dans une succession de rappels progressifs, dans un cadre époustouflant pour déboucher sur l’ancien village troglodytique de Saint-Marcellin ou vous pourrez admirer les gorges du Tarn à près de 400 mètres de hauteur.

Activité réalisable pour groupe constitué au printemps et en automne uniquement.

Rappel : Le canyon finit par un rappel de grande hauteur,  il est donc indispensable de ne pas être sujet au vertige pour vous inscrire à cette activité.

DESCRIPTION  CANYON SEC DANS LES GORGES DU TARN

Vous aurez rendez-vous avec votre moniteur directement au village de Liaucous.

Briefing du moniteur sur la technique de descente en rappel et vous entraîner à votre rythme avant d’attaquer la descente.

Puis le parcours commence avec une succession de petits rappels faciles dont la hauteur ne dépasse pas 8 mètres. Vous serez en permanence contre-assurer par votre moniteur avec une corde annexe, donc pas de risque de glisser ou de lâcher la corde.

Après vous être entraîné sur ces premières descentes, le canyon s’ouvre et un panorama époustouflant s’offre à vous ou vous pourrez admirer les gorges du Tarn à près de 400 mètres de hauteur.

Puis place à l’adrénaline avec le franchissement d’une tyrolienne très aérienne qui aboutit au départ du rappel final de la descente. Il existe cependant une possibilité de la contourner en quelques minutes par une sente parallèle qui rejoint la suite du parcours.

Enfin vous atteindrez le rappel final, le clou du spectacle ! 50 mètres de descente en fil d’araignée au cœur d’un paysage exceptionnel !

Puis, après un dernier franchissement sans corde, vous sortirez du canyon pour atteindre le chemin de randonnée qui rejoint en quelques minutes le village troglodytique de Saint-Marcellin que vous pourrez alors visiter à votre rythme.

Le site est incroyable de beauté et la vue sur la rivière en contrebas et sur les gorges du Tarn rajoute à ce cadre idyllique un visuel inoubliable.